The American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) used their 2017 national conference to present CVM Executive Director Dr. Kit Flowers with one of three President’s Awards for the year. This award honors veterinary professionals whose contributions have made a positive lasting impression on veterinary medicine and improved the health and welfare of people and animals. Veterinarians from all over the globe converged on Indianapolis for this year’s AVMA conference, where over 7,000 attendees experienced CE sessions, interactive labs and hands-on learning workshops. Many also had the chance to honor their colleagues at the President’s Reception. Dr. Tom Meyer, AVMA President, presented this year’s President Awards to Dr. Flowers, along with Dr. Richard DeBowes and Kathy Ruby, Ph.D.

Stated Dr. Meyer: “These outstanding individuals represent the best and the brightest in veterinary medicine. From public service to private practice, research to education, and policy to advocacy, their achievements have influenced every facet of the veterinary profession. We are proud to recognize them and their valuable work, and thank them for their contributions in advancing the health and well-being of both animals and people across the globe.”

Congratulations Kit and the entire CVM team!